Main Content

4.2 Classes of Medical Certificates for Licence Types


If you find any errors or omissions in this Handbook, or feel that something in it needs to change, write to:

Please include details of the page on which you wish to provide feedback.

Thank you for your assistance in ensuring that this Handbook is up to date and correct.

There are three medical standards relating to the various types of licences held. These three standards relate to Class 1, 2 and 3 Medical Certificates.

Standard Applicable to
Class 1 All professional technical aircrew of powered aircraft, and is required for issue of Airline Transport Pilot Licence, Commercial Pilot Licence, Flight Engineer or Flight Navigator Licences.
Class 2

Student Pilot, Private Pilot, Commercial Pilot Balloons and Flight Radio Operator Licences.

Class 3 Air Traffic Control staff.