Main Content

4.3 Duration of Validity


If you find any errors or omissions in this Handbook, or feel that something in it needs to change, write to:

Please include details of the page on which you wish to provide feedback.

Thank you for your assistance in ensuring that this Handbook is up to date and correct.

See also 6.7 Special Periodic Examinations Required.

Unless otherwise advised by the Aviation Medicine Section:

Class 1

Medical Certificate is valid for one year (see 6.7 Special Periodic Examinations Required).

Class 2

Medical Certificate is valid for four years, for applicants less than 40 years of age on the day of issue, and in all other cases for two years.

Class 3 Medical Certificate is valid for two years.

Where an applicant's medical condition is under review, the duration of Medical Certificate validity may be varied at the discretion of the PMO.